Investors & Media


March 26, 2024

Sage Therapeutics Announces Dr. Steve Paul to Retire from Board of Directors

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – March 26, 2024 -- Sage Therapeutics, Inc. (Nasdaq: SAGE) today announced that Steve Paul, M.D. will retire from the Company’s Board of Directors at the end of his current term. Dr. Paul will remain in his role on the Board of Directors until the Annual Meeting of Stockholders on June 10, 2024. The Company intends to initiate a search for a new director. Dr. Paul was the scientific co-founder of Sage, served as the interim start-up Head of Research and Development, and has also served on the Company’s Board of Directors since 2011.

“Steve’s vision and pioneering expertise in neuroactive steroids helped to create the foundation for Sage and contributed to the Company’s development of the only FDA-approved treatments indicated for postpartum depression and to our robust brain health pipeline,” said Barry Greene, CEO at Sage Therapeutics. “I appreciate his commitment to improving health care through innovation and research. Patients and families will benefit from his research and contributions to the field of neuroscience for generations to come.”

Dr. Paul was most recently the Chief Scientific Officer and President of Research and Development at Karuna Therapeutics. He also served as President and CEO as well as a member of Karuna’s Board of Directors from 2018-2023. Prior to Karuna, Dr. Paul co-founded Voyager Therapeutics and served as its President and CEO. Prior to co-founding Sage Therapeutics in 2011, Dr. Paul spent 17 years at Eli Lilly and Company also serving as Executive Vice President for Science and Technology and President of the Lilly Research Laboratories. Prior to Lilly, Dr. Paul served as Scientific Director of the National Institute of Mental Health and spent 18 years at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) as a Laboratory / Branch Chief. Dr. Paul is currently Board Chair of the Foundation for the NIH (FNIH). Dr. Paul is a Venture Partner at Third Rock Ventures and a Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. He also serves on the Board of Tulane University.